In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In the recent times it has been observed that shows and books related to crime have been gaining popularity. I believe this is mainly because of the thrill these dramas offer along with the awareness, I will present reasons and share my opinion in this essay. TV crime series portray the villains in a glamourous manner and this attracts many viewers. They also showcase and promote the idea of easy money. For instance, the famous gangster drama series “Narcos” went onto become a huge hit and still has a cult following. Although the characters mostly have a criminal background, the writers make sure that each episode of these crime dramas have some element of thrill which provide the viewers with an adrenaline rush and hence people love to spend their time either watching or reading them. Additionally, there are many shows which do a dramatic representation of real crime incidents which is also a big crowd puller. They also provide insights on the life of gangsters and their wrong doings and showcase how to be safe from these situations. For example, A young girl who was about to get kidnapped saved herself by taking a route through a crowded place rather than her regular path as she read in one of the crime novel, shows like these are responsible to make the regular citizen aware of the crimes happening around them and might help them they stay safe. In conclusion, crime series or novels are gaining popularity as they offer the viewer with excitement, thrill and awareness at the same time which the traditional entertainment like family dramas and sit-com’s are lacking and hence a lot of content related to crime is being viewed by the audience.