In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

There has been much debate in several nations whether younger generations are better to postpone university studies for a year or directly applying to the university. Some people argue that by taking one year break younger generations could explore knowledge and skills in workplaces or other places which will benefit them, while others disagree and argue the idea will give students plenty of disadvantages. This essay will present both views and argue that the advantages for young adults who take a year break outweigh its drawbacks. To begin with, it may be asserted that postponing a year for university studies makes younger generations have to allocate their time to find and make new friends. This is because most of their peers from the same school will start one year ahead and there would be a little chance of them could be study in the same class. Furthermore, if youngsters fail to find trustworthy colleagues, they will face difficulties in completing university assignment and exams. Consequently, they may graduate in low score or GPA which could affect to their future career. On the other hand, delaying study at university has enormous benefits for the students’ development and career path. Firstly, they could gain the essential insight and skills in workplaces during a year. Moreover, more and more companies advertise job opportunities with requirements that applicants should have at least one year experience, which certainly most of the university graduates are not eligible for these positions. Secondly, younger generations can use their break time wisely to explore and plan their journey ahead. This is because, according to the survey, many of students quit study at university because they felt the courses were not in line with their passion because they did not plan carefully before while choosing the department. In conclusion, even though there is one possible drawback for students who postpone university study, it can be tackled by choosing their friends wisely while making a group discussion or doing assignments. On the other hand, taking one year break could definitely benefit youngsters because they can obtain one year work experience which is beneficial for their future career and they can use the time to think and plan carefully about the department they would like to choose at university that in line with their passion.