The percentage of school aged boys in two different age groups who participated in 5 different sports in the UK in 2010.

It has become a question of debate whether the organisation of the global sports events is helpful in the maintenance of harmony and stability throughout the world or not. This essay agrees with the given statement because such events, promote cultural exchange and furthermore, boosts the country's economy. First of all, sports tournaments provide opportunities for the players to know about the foreign culture. This is due to the reason that when different nations participate in these special sports meet, players get ample chances to mingle with each other, which in turn, would help in the establishment of a healthy bond of relationships among them. For instance, if cricket series is organised between two countries, such as India and Australia, then the players get to know each other well and their norms which encourages peace and security. Thus it is appropriate to organise these meets periodically to maintain the feeling of fraternity. Moreover, the host nation is economically benefitted and consequently, it enhances stability of the nation. Since innumerable tourists from all over the world come to watch these matches, therefore they stay in the hosting countries and purchase tickets which adds to the nations' income. One particular good example of this, Olympic games which are held after every four years in distinct nations, which not only give identity to their culture, but also a source of making money for the host nations. To elucidate, these are a good source of the wealth of the organising nations. To sum up, healthy sports activities would maintain the peaceful relationships and reduce the level of disputes among the nations. In the above paragraphs, it was discussed that these encourage the transmission of culture and progress of the nation. I think that these tournaments should be organised for the welfare of the global world.