The people here don't buy kites - they make them. My grandfather's made me the largest, most colourful kite I've ever had. It looks great up there in the sky.

Nguyen: Nguyen speaking. Nick: Hi Nguyen, how's your stay there? Nguyen: Hi Nick! Well, it's more exciting than I expected. Nick: What are you doing? Nguyen: Lots of things. It's harvest time, so we help load the rice onto buffalo-drawn carts, ride it home and dry it. Have you ever ridden a cart? Nick: No, but I'd like to. Nguyen: And sometimes I go herding the buffaloes with the boys. Nick: You've made new friends? Nguyen: Yeah - right on my first day. They came and we went flying kites together. Nick: Where can you buy a kite in the countryside? Nguyen: The people here don't buy kites - they make them. My grandfather's made me the largest, most colourful kite I've ever had. It looks great up there in the sky. Nick: Oh, I'm so envious! Nguyen: Ha. . . ha. . . I guess. I live more happily here, and there's still a lot more to explore. Nick: Sounds great! Nguyen: And everything seems to move more slowly here than in the city. Nick: I wish I could join. . .