the organization of worldwide sporting events

There has been controversy about the organization of worldwide sporting events. While It is believed that this tendency can have detrimental impacts on the home country, others think that the hosting nation can take particular advantages. In this essay, I will consider both viewpoints before giving my idea. To begin with, those who support the viewpoint that hosting country can yield certain benefits. First, organizing a global sports event may help promote the national image. It is true that the holding a world-class sports tournaments can bring a huge number of tourists to the country. Therefore, hosting a international event successfully can build the reputation and dignity of the host country all over the world. In addition, the increase of visitors can lead to economic benefits. For instance, cities that holding the Olympics can provide some resort and travel services, so the government spending may be risen significantly. However, supporters of those who believe that hosting a worldwide sporting events can have disadvantaged effects on the home nation. First and foremost, in order to host a international event, the government needs to renovate existing sports facilities or build a new one, which means a huge amount of money may be spend on such investments. In addition, with a large number of tourists, the number of public transport tend to be increase dramatically. Therefore, plenty of serius traffic congestion can be happened. In conclusion, although holding a global sports event can induce some problem such as traffic congestion or the reduction of the government budget, I contend that the advantages of hosting a international sports event are more meaningful to the host nation.