The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

Traffic congestion has become an alarming situation for almost every city. Some folks believe that reducing the needs for people to travel is the best way to resolve this problem. In my opinion, I agree with this view to some extent as it does not serve as a permanent solution. We should devise new ways to curb this situation permanently. Thanks to the advancements in technology, it is now possible for people to perform various tasks without stepping outside their homes. For example, they can now buy anything online sitting in the realms of their comfort. Apart from this, many organizations blessed their employees to work from home provision. In addition to this, many universities now offer their courses online. By encouraging more students to study online and people to work from their home, the government can reduce the traffic burden on cities on a temporary basis as some people did not have access to the internet and some jobs such as doctors, mechanics and a lot more require physical presence. However, the government should come up with stringent rules and new policies to put a permanent cap on this situation. Firstly, public transport should be promoted by adding new buses and train coaches with wide coverage of various locations in the cities. Thus, this leads to a reduction in the number of vehicles on the road. For instance, Delhi government has reported a drastic decrease in traffic jams with the introduction of metro rail. Eventually, people should step forward and take the initiative to opt cycling and car pooling for local commuting. Therefore, by taking the above measures we can permanently reduce the growing traffic problems. In Conclusion, I assert that limiting people within their boundaries with the help of technology is not a concrete solution to reduce the amount of traffic. By taking the above measures we can permanently get rid of this situation and allow people to enjoy their travelling for their holistic development.