The only way to improve road safety is to impose strict punishments on driving offenders

Individuals may have differing views on how to make roads safer. From my own point of view, both harsh penalties and other measures are worth considering to promote better driving habits In the first place, strict punishments can have merits in encouraging people to drive safer. Sanctions can not only act as a threat against potential offenders but also a deterrent to repeated crimes. The implementation of fines, license suspension, and prison sentences can bring a solution to the increasing number of accidents on the roads. People may argue that this method demands a sudden surge in traffic wardens, which seems to be unfeasible. However, with the advancement of technology, this issue can be tackled by the installation of CCTV and digital punishment systems. In the second place, safe driving can also be promoted in other ways but punish drivers. Firstly, more attention could be paid to safe road design. As a case in point, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic, and speed cameras can help to hinder people from driving too quickly. Secondly, the government should integrate traffic laws education into high school curriculum and broadcast campaigns on mass media. Infographics and videos posted on social networking sites can enhance the awareness of the vast majority about traffic laws and possibilities of hazardous accidents without conformity. To recapitulate, while punishments are effective in preventing bad driving, I personally believe that other road safety measures should also be taken into account.