The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishments for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

some people contend that road safety can only be increased by establishing strong penalty either financial or imprisonment for lawbreakers. From my perspective, this phenomenon is the appropriate solution to the growing road crime. Firstly, driving offenders who had faced the tough chastisement, will never do the same illegal act again. As for financial penalty, since numerous people such as middle class may not afford it, eventually crime rate decreases. Moreover, road protection, which is a serious issue in many countries, can be enhanced by boosting the fine for delinquents. Regarding the imprisonment, it may resist affluent as well as poor from doing misdeeds on roads by sentence them into prison for a specified time period. Hence, serious punishment is must to combat road accidents. Secondly, the government cannot ensure the protection of citizens on road just by creating awareness about consequences of not following traffic rules and laws, In several countries, people are still illiterate that may give rise to infringement until they get punished. India, for instance, where penalty is not strong for rule breakers, has high number of road accidents occurring each year, whereas in Canada, the crime rate is relatively less because their laws are more powerful. Therefore, governments should have to integrate both awareness and punishment to minimize this problem. To conclude, Although various nations conduct awareness programs about traffic rules for public, the best way to ensure road security is enforcing critical laws.