Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

It is a popular notion that knowing your history has no relevance in the current scenario. I strongly disagree with this belief. It might not be of interest, but learning about the past is inevitable. History reminds us of the mistakes that we have made. Thereby ensuring we don't repeat it in the future. It is rightly said that if you do it once, it's a mistake and if you do it twice, you are a fool. But you'll never be smart if you do not have the knowledge about what went wrong in the first place. For example, a number of things have led to wars, countries then signed treaties and have ensured that those same reasons never occur again. You need to understand the errors from yesterday to have a better tomorrow. Learning from the past ensures that we don't have to reinvent things. Take for an example, if we did not document or learn from the first time a wheel was invented, we would be trying to figure out a wheel even generations later. That is the benefit of keeping notes of what has happened. Using the expertise from before is the only way to move forward. Moreover, it reduces efforts and ensures progress in the larger scheme of things. To conclude, we need to understand that past is what makes us what we are today. Also, it is extremely important to know and accept where we come from to decide where we need to be headed.