Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance.

There is currently a contentious argument advocating that the essential factor to be considered while designing a structure is its function, rather than its form. I strongly agree with this notion because a building's primary purpose is to fulfill its function and to address its users' comfort. The main reason why I think considering function of a building is vital during the process of its design is because a structure is designed to cater to a specific purpose. For example, the plan layout of a bank must ensure to fulfill its function, which is an effective public dealing and monetary safety and security. If designing the facade were given much more importance than its function, the performance of the bank would be affected, resulting in an overall chaos and a poor security. Another reason why the function should be given importance is because of users' comfort. Even though internal planning of a structure is an essential element, the needs of a user must also be considered. This is because a structure is built to cater to its users, other than fulfilling its primary function. For instance, a residence which has not been designed as per ergonomics and basic standards, would be a lifetime headache for its users, despite having an appealing external appearance. Thus, this makes it clear that users' needs and comfort must also be taken into account while designing a building. In conclusion, I absolutely believe that the practical use of a structure is the foremost factor to be considered during its design process, as a successful building is the one which ensures the fulfillment of its primary function and the users' comfort, rather than its alluring facade. Building authorities of cities and towns must keep a check on these factors before approving the plans for construction purposes.