the only way to improve road safety is stricter punishments.

Given the increasing rate of injuries and deaths caused by traffic accidents, many people believed that only by implementing more draconian traffic laws can improve our roads safety. Nevertheless, in this essay I will challenge this school of thoughts. Stricter punishments may partly improve road safety in a certain extent via heavy fines, license suspension or vehicle confiscation, prevent road-users from violating traffic laws. For instance, these punitive measure may deter traffic participants from committing traffic offenses resulting in fewer accidents. However, this only works when people are made aware of theses changes. This requires more fundamental approach, which makes people cognizant of traffic laws in the first place. Via education and campaigns about the catastrophic effects of traffic accidents for individuals or their families who suffer from hazard in transportation, these will make people aware of the importance of road safety and comply traffic laws. These steps would even render imposing harsher punishment unnecessary. Furthermore, to say that stringent punishments are the key to enhancing road safety is to ignoring about environmental factors causing accidents. In some rainy day, some roads become slippery that transportation here is dangerous for road-users and those who do not use the road at the same time. The shortage of signposts is also a factor which leads drivers to forbidden road and causes hazards for them. Besides, poor visibility due to trees is one of the environmental factors causing accidents, which people can not see the street clearly, hence, transportation participants crash into the unknown obstacles and fall down the street and get injuries or even deaths. The local and national authorities, therefore, need to detect effective solutions to ameliorate road safety that transportation participants will feel being in safety when they transport. To sum up, stricter punishments may work in a certain degree but no mean it is the only way to improve road safety.