The only way to cut the crime rate is building more prisons and make prison sentences longer.

As we see nowadays the crime rate has increased comparatively and many people think that building more prisons and putting people inside for a long time will help to reduce the crime rate but actually this is not the solution in my opinion. The first thing we need to do is to control the crime rate in the society by raising awareness in people and through positive media. The media has a very important role in raising awareness in common population through television and the Internet. The young generation is deeply influenced by the violence based movies and such movies should not me made instead positive messages should be given to the innocent minds so that tomorrow they become the useful citizens. Another important issue is the increased use of unlicensed weapons openly in society as it is seen commonly now that on small issues people lose their tempers and don't hesitate in using guns. At the same time, security should be increased at society level like in small towns and other neglected places and security automobiles number should also be increased. The idea of increasing the prison number and holding the criminals long time inside is not a very sensible idea because it is observed that people start making organised gangs inside the jails and sometimes become big criminals than they were ever before. Instead of wasting this money on extending the prison system Government should invest this money on beneficial plans for a nation like constructing modern hospitals, improving the pre-existing health sector and giving better education standards. To sum up, raising awareness can make a remarkable difference in people's attitude and can decline the crime rates. this is a far better approach than increasing the number of prisons and prolonging the punishment period.