The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. with this view?

There are different perspectives about whether the old generations’ traditional opinions on lifestyle is appropriate for the young or not. This essay will analyse both views before giving conclusion. It is undeniable that there are certain reasons why old people’s ideas might be useful for younger generations. Firstly, it is because they have been through many ups and downs, they have many experiences. They can provide those wisdom to younger one, as a result, young people can avoid getting in troubles by listening to old people’s advice. Secondly, there are moral values from previous generations are applicable to modern life. For example, the tradition of hard working is undoubtedly beneficial for younger generation in the dynamic job market nowadays. Moreover, there are a lot of national traditions that older generations can contribute to future generations and by following them, young people are preserving a part of their culture. On the other hand, there are many old ideas that have become irrelevant in modern life. First of all, there are many misconceptions from the elder about gender roles or same sex marriage. It is sure that there is no place for these ideas in an open-minded era. Furthermore, modernisation and globalisation are happening at an accelerated speed so such misconceptions are definitely obstacles in developing society. In addition to this, if young generations are overdependent on the old one, they will lose their creativity and their ability to adapt to changes in modern world. Therefore, the society will become unchanged and eventually, underdeveloped. In conclusion, although there are ideas that can be unsuitable today, young generations should consider some national tradition as valuable.