Many People believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes in efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment.

This day controlling crime is a challenging issue. If one person commits crime then he should be punished, but fixed punishment for all crimes is not moral. Let see the both advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment. The advantages of having a fixed punishments create fear in society and motivate people to not commit crime. For instance road accidents, If people follow traffic rules properly, then this helps to reduce the accidents. Second biggest advantage is managing courts and jails becomes easier. Along with that, people belong higher status in society can't escape from punishment. However the official people have to do their work honestly. Disadvantages of this concept are mainly not providing justice for some kind of crimes. For example, if a person attempts murder and crime had been proved in court, but still the victim won't get accurate punishment. At the same time the people who did crime like theft or smuggling are not eligible to get the punishment. However this problem can be solved be dividing the crimes into groups. For each group the severity of punishment should be allocated. The lower level crimes allocated with less punishment and this will increase with the severity of crime. To summarize all above points, even though this concept creates fear in society and helps to reduce crime, sometimes justice given to the guilty is not satisfied, maybe his punishment was bigger or smaller. By creating groups that include all types of crimes helps to give justice which satisfies victims.