The number of students studying science at university is constantly declining. What do you think are the causes? What effects will this have on our society?

In the modern world, many individuals are concerned about the number of students, who are studying science at university, because their number is constantly decreasing. Consequently, this tendency has many negative consequences on the society. To begin with, the main cause of this problem is the salary of researchers and scientists. It is widely accepted that the students, who are studying science at university, will receive fixed salary from the government or private organizations, when they graduate. In this reason, in many cases, their wage is not enough for running their livelihood. To illustrate, many professors and academics are keen to work in the evenings in order to earn extra money. Furthermore, science is not popular in the modern world. It is true that many school students are not willing to apply in scientific professions, because these subjects are not considered as a prestigious profession. For example, many applicants chose economics or law, because they have gained popularity among youngsters. On the other hand, this trend has many negative effects on the society. Firstly, the level of education and literacy can be declined. It is clear that if these standards are decreased, it can affect the economy, because human capital is essential for the economic prosperity of the country. For instance, many countries, such as Japan, are developing, because of their scientific achievements, innovations and other breakthroughs. Secondly, it can affect the job market. It is widely known that if the students do not apply for science, this sphere can lose many employees. As a result, many scientific projects can be closed. A good illustration of this is the Stolkovo project in Russia. Nowadays, this project remains unfinished, because of the lack of science workers. In conclusion, although many individuals tend to think that the number of science students cannot affect the economic prosperity, others feel that this tendency has many negative effects, such as the declining level of education and possible job redundant of science workers.