The number of plants and animals is declining. Why? Solutions?

It is undeniable that wildlife habitats are being destroyed, and whole species of plants and animals are disappearing. There are several causes of this alarming trend, but measures could undoubtedly be taken to tackle the problem. Some human activities are the culprit of the global decline in the number of plants and animals. Firstly, millions of hectares of trees are being uprooted to give space for farmland and housing, leading to an excessive loss of the natural habitat of many wildlife species. Secondly, industrial and domestic pollution are primary ways in which humans have caused drastic modifications to the environment. For instance, some animal species, such as the bald eagle, peregrine falcon, and brown pelican, have suffered severely due to DDT's synthetic chemical that destroys their reproductive systems. Finally, untreated sewage from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to water and air pollution and, ultimately, global warming, which may have a devastating effect on wildlife species in the future. Recent research has pointed /shown that if the global temperature increases by 1 degree Celsius, at least 20% of total plant and animal species would become extinct. However, it is not too late for governments, businesses, and individuals to reverse the situation. The first simple solution would be for governments to create regulations restricting cultivable land, thereby decreasing deforestation. They could also introduce/enact environmental laws to limit factories emissions or force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind, or tidal power. Imposing "green taxes" on drivers and airlines is another way to encourage people to use public transport and take fewer flights abroad, reducing emissions/their carbon footprints. Besides this, governments should provide financial incentives to encourage sustainable farming techniques that are less water-intensive and require less land. Take Israel and Japan as typical examples of leading countries in applying cutting-edge technologies, such as drip irrigation technique, satellite imaging, and bioengineering, to increase crop yields and, simultaneously, reduce the negative impact on the environment. Individuals could also contribute to reversing the situation by choosing products with less packaging and recycling as much as possible. In conclusion, several reasons for the decline of millions of plants and animals can be pointed out, and various measures can be taken to resolve this problem. Hopefully, with the cooperation of governments, organizations, and society as a whole, we can help bring back the number of endangered plant and animal species in the near future/the number of endangered plant and animal species will bounce back in the near future.