Why money can't buy you happiness

In this day and age, many people hold the view that the wealthier they are, the more joy and happiness they will have. To my mind, money can bring us short-term satisfaction, but little long-term happiness. With a large amount of money, people can buy new things and build a higher social status. They waste their money on things such as the latest mobile phone or a bigger house although their current ones are still good because such new things make people avoid the feeling of a loser in the wealth race. However, those things can never satisfy people's greed, as when people can afford something, they will want something better than the old one. In addition, happiness is more likely to appear in ordinary things and moments in life. For instance, people often consider moments like watching the sunset, having a picnic, or being together with family and friends as their happiest memories, not when they are promoted or have a new house. On the other hand, money somewhat makes people happy. If we spend money in line with our personality, it can meet our most fundamental needs and preference, which is a part of happiness, satisfaction and fulfilment. Moreover, with financial stability, people will live more happily without thinking about the lack of money.