The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come of this trend.

Nowadays, working from home has become an uprising trend in many countries. In this essay, I will discuss some of the benefits this has brought to our modern days, and also some of its drawbacks. One advantage is stress levels tend to be significantly lower when working from home. When faced with stressful situation, one could easily walk away or take a break gaining more control over daily work-related anxiety and pressure. Furthermore, working online diminish the need for commute, reducing the traffic congestion remarkably. This is an advantage because the transportation services will be less crowded, less carbon dioxide combustion and eventually a healthier planet. Turning to the other side of the argument, we find that virtual jobs offer less communication with other colleagues. Some might find it difficult to spend long hours with only a computer screen and no face-to-face interaction. Moreover, remote-workers need specific equipment to set up their home offices. High-end laptop and a high-speed internet connection are some of the basic needs for this and it could be quite costly for individuals specially if the hiring company will not provide them for its employees. To sum up, at-home jobs causes less stress levels and give no need to use transportation. However, it is hard for humans to spend much time with only a computer screen, and also the equipment might be a burden on the worker.