application for a teacher training programme

Growing up, I was fortunate enough to attend quality schools with an array of passionate teachers who truly cared about their students and the subjects they taught. However, I know that not everyone is privileged to have the same chances as me and this educational inequality is entirely unfair and distressing. It's true that some of my greatest moments of personal growth were from the excellent teachers in my life who successfully shifted certain attitudes and viewpoints I had for the better. The harsh nature of Teach First’s programme is something I'm acutely aware of. An acquaintance once told me that her experience as a Teach First Trainee was incredibly challenging, with a student throwing a chair at her on her very first day. Despite this, she persisted onwards and ultimately found it rewarding to show that same student the compassion and empathy he so greatly needed in order to thrive. I found her story with Teach First to be remarkable and it's that sense of deep satisfaction one can have after helping others overcome obstacles in a difficult environment which I liked. I’m keen on joining Teach First because I find value in meaningful work that has a tangible social impact. To me, meaningful work is something which brings out a person’s best qualities but also improves the lives of others. Grit, perseverance and a strong drive to positively change the quality of education of young students from disadvantaged backgrounds are the traits I have which pull me towards this charity.