application for a teacher training programme

For the past 6 months, I’ve volunteered with a UK-based Malaysian student organisation called UKEC as their Design & Marketing Officer. In 2021, I spearheaded our flagship event called [i]MPACT Stories, a talk investigating the socio-political gender inequality present in Malaysia. As Marketing Director, I led the digital campaign surrounding this year’s chosen theme of Women’s Empowerment where I created an animation based on the story of the fictional protagonist Hana, who is navigating the woes of adolescence to womanhood. Her story touches upon topics like the dangers of online sexual grooming, domestic violence and internalised gender stereotypes. At first, it was proposed that this animation should be drawn quite simply, using a single colour and minimal shading due to the time constraints I was in as a third-year student writing my dissertation. However, I soon realised I wouldn’t be satisfied with the bare minimum and I yearned for the challenge of making this the best piece of artwork I could muster. So for a month, I spent countless late hours illustrating until I was happy with the results. I’m pleased to say that this animation is something I'm immensely proud of and have admittedly received a fair few notes of appreciation from the UKEC council. My animation was exhibited throughout the event as a visual introduction to the different chapters of Women’s Empowerment presented in [i]MPACT Stories. This animation, plus a myriad of other digital marketing strategies I initiated, resulted in about 500 sign-ups for our online event.