In the past, a lot of money was poured into space exploration, and some people believed that the Earth would soon be colonising other planets.

In the past, a lot of money was poured into space exploration, and some people believed that the Earth would soon be colonising other planets. However, this enterprise has proved more costly and complex than originally expected and, as a result, some people believe that we are spending too much money on exploring space. Others believe that the spin-offs from this endeavour outweigh the costs involved. Those who disagree with space exploration say that we are squandering our resources on futile project. They say that we are unlikely ever to be able to live on another planet and that the research benefits from this enterprise are minimal in comparison with the costs involved. They believe that we should spend our money on Earth-based research instead to improve medical technology or to solve environmental problems. However, the attempt to explore space has resulted in many technological advances in a variety of areas, some of which have had a significant impact on environmental issues. For example, improvements in wing shape and fuel technology from spaceship research have resulted in substantial savings for aircraft travel and in reductions in harmfull ozone emissions. As for medical technology, the space programme has led to improved methods of detecting and caring some forms of concer, and help for those with heart disease and serious bums, among many other illnesses. Although space explorotion is expensive, it nepresents only a tiny proportion of the budget of countries with space programmes. Even if we never reach the stars, exploring the heavens has benifited mankind in many ways and will continue to do so.