The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance Why do people do operations to change the way they look Do you think it is a positive or negative development? gmng

Over the past decade, technology has shown its advancement in the cosmetic field too. Nowadays, people are looking forward towards cosmetic surgeries in order to enhance their looks. There are numerous reasons behind this trend. I, however, believe that this is a negative development and shall discuss my view in this essay. There are myriad reasons behind rise in the number of cosmetic surgeries. Firstly, the present world has become very materialistic. People tend to look modern and younger than their age. At the same time, celebrities in order to look attractive undergo surgeries to modify their facial features. As a result, their followers tend to walk on their footsteps leasing to a rise in the number of cosmetic surgeries. Additionally, people opt for these surgeries in order to cure some facial deformity as a result of burns or acid attacks. There are numerous pitfalls of undergoing cosmetic surgeries. Firstly, such surgeries can be harmful to our skin and may cause skin cancers. A recent survey had reported a greater number of skin cancers in those people who underwent surgeries than those who did not. Furthermore, people lose their natural appearance and wear artificial masks of beauty and had to regularly undergo treatment for proper maintenance of skin. Moreover, people tend to spend thousands of dollars for such operations which can cause a burden on the pockets of the common masses. To conclude, I will state that cosmetic surgeries have proven to have a negative impact on the society. It had created a feeling among people that beauty is the paramount aspect of life. Hence, those who cannot afford it might feel less confident of themselves. Thus, such surgeries much be regulated and must only be used in case of certain casualties