Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

The argument on how to react over children attitude become a controversy among parents. Decisive action should be enforced once negative actions emerged, but this would bring negative development to individuals' mental health. Hence, this essay stands up for the notion that appreciation would encourage children to behave well. Punishment is one of the mainstream methods conducted by the parents to restrain juvenile delinquency. The majority presume that this measure is an effective way to deterrent the children, impose them to behave in a right way. The strength of fear is the main concept of this approach. When a student is found out smoking in school, for instance, the teacher insisted them to clean up the toilets as the consequence of their attitude. How effective this way to stop the student smoking with a scared feeling for being punished if they repeat the action in the future. When it comes to punishment, an emotional range of feelings is inevitable. Anxiousness, fright, and pressure arise as they get the penalty. These negative emotions might lead to mental health degradation. This contrasted to those that treated well when they have good behavior. A reward could influence the feeling of being appreciated. A psychological study denoted that a good treat from parents could increase the mental health of children up to 45%, this mental state would lead them to have a good attitude. In conclusion, mental health reduction is one of the drawbacks of children's punishment. Nonetheless, an appreciation affects the opposite. It is advocated, instead of giving punishment, an admonition will be the best choice to those who have done wrong, and a tribute should be given to the good one.