Many people believe that increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of pollution and others believe that industries are equally responsible

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. Howev while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they ha had a damaging effect on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on each individu person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas before the development of technology and socia networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outs of their immediate circle or community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social networking sites have had societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than individual peop taking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in pea online. Consequently, the people within local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjoin and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, the have not had the same effect on society or local communities. Local communities should more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life