Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

Making children to be an excellent human is the responsibility of the parents. Albeit one of the ways that can be done is giving punishment if youths make bad behaviours, this essay agrees that it is more effective if parents can provide some gifts when they do good behaviour. Giving punishment when children do bad activities is wrong, leading them to feel hatred toward their parents. This is to say, it tends to create bad experiences that children will remember all their life, resulting in having excessive mental trauma. For instance, in 2017, the Jakarta post reported an increase in children's violent cases by 50% in Jakarta. The perpetrator, who was their parents, admitted that it was a punishment for their children due to their bad activities, causing them becoming quiet and anti-social. Consequently, it tends to bring negative impacts on the youngsters' development in the future. Providing gifts can give more motivation for children to do the best they can do in it. This is since these cases will affect youth's development in their attitude and behaviour. To illustrate, in interviews with Mr. Iman, the Nobel Prize winner, he said the habit of his parents who gave him gifts when he got a good test in his school, made his motivation increase to achieve it, and it still affected until that time so that he could gain that prize. This results, the habit of giving gifts for children's good behaviours can bring positive impacts that deliver them to have a better life in the future. In conclusion, many parents think that their punishments can give a deterrent effect on children, causing them not to do bad activities anymore, but in my opinion, parents can provide some rewards when their children gain any achievement, leading them to have more motivation to get what they want.