The number of old people is increasing in many countries. What can be the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

In contemporary society, the overpopulated elderly in a plethora of nations has been one of the fiercely debated phenomena. From my perspective, I am going to discuss the reason behind this trend and numerous adverse effects that have arisen as a result of this. There is a primary reason why the percentage of senior generation is rising in many countries. Ordinarily, upon having the advancement of the medical system, individuals will have a long life expectancy. This means that those who have old age sickness are more likely to be cured, given that the progress of the health system might assist people to cure some hazardous diseases. For instance, Germany is one of the countries having the most developed healthcare in the world and an old population. Additionally, this phenomenon is a negative trend by virtue of an adverse impact. One of the major issues associated with this is the lack of laborers, meaning that upon increasing senior citizens, the nation may struggle to look for young employees. According to that, the old generation will be burdened on the national budget when a plethora of companies has to spend time and money to select foreign workers. For example, the rate of elderly citizens in Japan is the highest in comparison with others, so Japan has to recruit numerous foreign laborers every year. In conclusion, it is clear that there is a reason for the number of old people is going up by virtue of medical development. In addition, this trend leads to negative consequences for numerous countries, including a lack of employees. (262)