More and more developing countries are inviting large foreign companies to come and set up businesses. Is this a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, big foreign companies are invited to do investments in most of the developing countries. Even though the development in economy of those countries can be helped, there might be adverse effects on environment, local businesses and social issues. According to the Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) to the poor, the developing countries’ economic status will be raised. The advanced technology and methods from the rich will help the quality of exports and by this way, not only the foreign currency and income but also the employment rates will be increased. On the other hand, the small business can be replaced and threatened by the big companies. The small enterprises cannot compete the marketing strategies and techniques of the large ones, there might become the low demand for local products. Moreover, most of the developing countries’ policies are weak, especially in environmental regulations and laws, because the government only focus on economic development and give less interest on the issues of land, soil, water quality and effects of air pollution. Therefore, there might be a lack of human-resources to monitor and control pollution from large industrial zones and also, the results of environmental degradation are unimaginable. Furthermore, mostly in rural parts of mega cities, people have to remove their homes because of the implementation of huge industrial zones. In conclusion, as foreign countries set up businesses in developing lands, they should consider not only for their own sake but also for the social and environmental impacts of the host countries