The news is an important source of knowledge for all of us about the world, especially in this era of technology. Journalists are mainly responsible to bring this news to us but not all of them are true to their responsibilities and ethics. How much can we trust the journalists?

In this era of digital technology, news becomes important part of our daily life. News become source of knowledge as well as information of what is currently happening in the world. As now we can find news that is written by various journalists, some people questions whether they can fully trust the journalists who produce the news. There are a lot of media where we can find any kind of news, such as newspaper, television, radio, and internet. Journalists are the people who gather the information and write it down to the media as news. They are in charge of the news broadcasted or posted in the media and they have to be true to their responsibilities and ethics. Yet, not all of them are really responsible and obedient to their ethics. Journalists can be irresponsible and violate their ethics for some reasons, such as to drive public opinion to a certain thing and to gain viewers in order to push their rating. It is very possible for them to do so if they write information that is not supported by accurate data. Driving public opinion is a common thing in special occasion as election. When an election is coming, the media usually share the news about the candidates that participate in the election. Often, there are media that spread uncertain news about one candidate in order to create good image for the other candidate. It can be worse if journalists tend to drop one candidate with untruthful news. The news that is not data proven will be easy to spread during that time. That kind of situation will require us to filter which media that has responsible journalist to write the news. Media that already internationally or nationally admitted have good journalists that be trusted in their news. Those media such as CNN, BBC, Times, Media Indonesia, and CNBC. It will be better for us to trust the news posted by those media, than any other media that we are not sure of. In conclusion, it is our ability to analyze which journalists who write facts instead of false news. We have to make sure that the news is well supported with data or facts before we trust the information.