Task 2. People nowadays prefer to interact online (e. g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than taking to other people to face-to-face.

The advances in technology, namely the internet, have certainly affected how we live our lives. Thanks to it, we now spend more time engaging in online activities than having face-to-face conversations with others. In this essay, I will explore the reasons and explain why this can be both positive and negative at the same time. There are several reasons why this is happening. First of all, online interactions are believed to be less time-consuming and more convenient. Those who do their shopping online do not have to commute back and forth saving their valuable time. Moreover, online reviews can also help save not just the nerves, but the time once spent browsing the shops. However, instant messaging apps have taken communication to a whole new level. In the past, we could communicate with our long-distance friends only via snail mail or a more luxurious alternative, telephone. Nowadays, thanks to the light speed of the internet, we are able to do this in real time as if they are in the next room. Despite harsh criticism from the older generation, I still think the internet has been more of a blessing than a curse. The number one claim against the internet is that it reduced face-to-face communications. While I acknowledge that we may have show more preference towards online interactions, I still think people are more socially aware than ever thanks to the emergence of social media. With the help of platforms like Facebook, we are more informed about what is happening in our communities than in the past. Another common complaint is that people are now suffering from the shortened attention span. This, unfortunately, is true. Research shows that students can no longer stay focused in classes because they are now used to switching from one activity to another. It is alarming how often we tend to check our Facebook or Twitter pages while reading an important email at work. To sum up, people use the internet for its convenience and time-saving benefits. However, while it is helping us keep in touch with friends over long-distance, caution must be taken about the alarming effects of shortened attention span. (band 8. 0)