‘‘The most important information does not come from books. ’’ Use specific reasons and examples to explain your choice.

There are many significant controversies about which resource is more important when it comes to learning. Books and experience are considered as two main resources for people to gain knowledge. Whereas some people think that the best information comes from books, some people refuse this statement by claiming the best information comes from experience. No doubt, books teach us a lot of things. However, I believe that experience is far more essential than books. Initially, most of the changes that happen in humans’ life occur owing to experiences. People decide to change themselves not because of the books, but because of the difficulties they undergo. We guide our lives with the things we learn from the mistakes we make. Mistakes also mean experience. Even a small piece of information that we gain from our mistakes can cause a big change. The more we experience, the more we gain knowledge. No book can teach us how to deal with situations that we encounter in our life. Additionally, the most useful skills cannot be learned from the books. A baby learns to speak and walk not from books, but from experience. Books can describe how to paint a canvas and give some tips, but we will never be able to learn to paint until we try to paint by using our hands and improve ourselves over time. We cannot learn to cook if we choose to read books. While books can only give us some specific written information, experiences give us not only the knowledge, but also the ability to use the information in real life. Knowing something does not mean being able to apply it in practice. Experience is the thing that enables practical application. According to some people, books can give everything that we need for life. They believe that books and formal education is enough to maintain their life. However, it can be understood that this is not true by looking at job advertisements. Although people with high education level are privileged, a person who lacks experience will not be hired no matter how high his education level is. For instance, a doctor needs basic information about diseases that can be learn from books, but a doctor cannot be real doctor until he deals with patients. Teachers are another example. No one would want a teacher who has never taught a lecture to a student. In conclusion, knowledge gained from experience is more important than knowledge gained from books because experience is the real world. Books are so valuable that no one can underestimate their power, yet experience will always be one step ahead of the books.