The money spent on space research has brought enormous benefits to mankind. But it could be more usefully applied. How far do you agree?

Many people in the world listen to music daily, regardless of their cultural backgrounds and ages. I partly agree with the opinion that music is a good way to unite and connect people of different cultures and at different ages. The opinion has a disadvantage in the way that it is difficult for different kinds of people to bond with each other by music since people's taste of music varies according to their cultural backgrounds and ages. Even though English is becoming the world common language, people yet like songs that artists sing in their native language. For example, Japanese songs are more popular than foreign songs in Japan and Japanese songs always occupying higher ranks of music charts in Japan. Also, the young don't try to listen to songs released before they were born and similarly the old is unwilling to listen to songs popular among young people. On the other hand, accepting the disadvantage mentioned above, I would argue that music has the power to bring different kinds of people together. Music indeed is one of just a few things such people talk about with one another. Music can be a gate to the conversation and leads to another conversation topic, which makes different types of people open up to each other. For example, when I travelled to Thailand a few years ago, I get close to a pretty older local person for the reason that we had the same taste of music. In this way, music transcends cultures and generations. In conclusion, while accepting the difficulty of bonding with people, irrespective of cultures and ages, in my opinion, music can unite and connect people regardless of their cultural backgrounds and generations.