The money given to help poor countries does not solve the problem of poverty, so rich countries should give other types of help instead.

It is said that support funds that are given to third world countries will not solve the poverty issue and therefore developed countries should think of other kinds of help, which are more effective. To a certain point, I would agree that there should be an alternative kind of help for the poor countries, but financial support would also be needed for a short time period. Many experts believe that financial supports that are given to poor countries are not effective and efficient; therefore there should be other kinds of help which could be considered. Firstly, it is a fact that illiteracy has become one of the major issues in poor countries, and developed countries could send some of their teachers to improve the education system there. It is hoped should the literacy rate increase, the number of unemployment will gradually reduce. Secondly, people of the poor countries are suffering due to the low quality of the health system there. Building more qualified hospitals and improving the quality of the medical staffs would be an effective way to help them. And lastly, many third world countries have a bad infrastructure and public transportation facilities. By building more roads and improving the public transports there, it is hoped that people of these poor countries would be more productive as they will have easier access to their workplaces. It can be seen that all of the alternative ideas are long term projects, and people would only see the improvement after ten or fifteen years minimum. For a short period of time, financial aid is still needed by the third world countries; as governments could not provide decent health and education system, and many people are starving and sick. However, since corruption is also a serious problem in poor countries, strict monitoring over the financial support should be a priority, to ensure that the fund is appropriately utilised. In conclusion, to a certain extent, I would agree that financial aids given by advanced countries to poor nations would not be the best solution in solving the poverty issue. However, since resolving poverty problem would be a long term project, financial help should also be given for a short period of time, but it should be strictly controlled.