The mode in which governments spend money

The mode in which governments spend money is a major concern in actual society, as it is justified by the administrative intends to cover the inhabitant’s basic needs. Although the collected capital is used in different aspects to improve citizens life quality, the following essay would state that the governments should invest most of the incomes in education, because it provides economic opportunities, and it works as a protective factor to substance abuse. Firstly, education opens possibilities to the workforce, as the labor markets are interested in highly qualified workers with strong academic baggage. Studies have shown that countries, where the government invests most of the taxes in education, have higher rates of employment; therefore, there is an increment in life quality and a reduction in criminality (specially in vandalism). Citizens perceive that free education facilitate the personal and professional development; hereby, it is suggested to spend most of the capital in this aspect. Secondly, education prevents drug dependency because academic environments are full of healthy reinforcements that increase positive emotions while reduce interest in substance consumption. This was proved by the “rat park” experiment, where one group of rats was introduced in a dynamic environment with activities, while the other lived in isolated conditions without reinforcements. The second developed drug addiction. These findings were generalized and accepted in human beings: when the government offers more possibilities, like academic spaces, less individuals develop drug dependency. For this reason, it is fundamental to invest in education. Finally, education is the most important aspect for governments to spend money on. It improves economic conditions, and it works as a protective factor to substance addiction. Therefore, it is suggested to analyze how this investment can provide a better life to future generations.