pros and cons of school uniform

It is often believed that a uniform helps create a disciplined atmosphere at school. I agree with this view. In my opinion, students should be required to wear uniform because of the many benefits offered by it. There are many reasons why uniform is important in schools. Firstly, it creates a positive environment in schools; consequently, the decorum of school is maintained efficiently as poor children are not bullied on the basis of their clothes. This also eradicates any disparity between rich and poor students. Thus, a happy environment is created. Another point is that the uniform enables children to concentrate more on studies rather than on their wardrobe. When they do not have to worry about what to wear to school, they can work to achieve their goals. Moreover, parents’ hard earned money is saved as children are supposed to abide by uniforms. For instance, many parents are happy to send their children to schools where uniform is compulsory. Nevertheless, despite the benefits, there are certain minor drawbacks. For instance, standard size uniforms may not be comfortable for obese children. However, those children can get their uniform stitched by a tailor. Another minor issue is that students may get tired of wearing the same piece of clothing every day; however, this problem can be resolved by having different uniforms on different days. In conclusion, uniform makes it easy to maintain discipline at school and create an atmosphere of equality. Enforcing a rule that requires students to abide by a dress code has more advantages than disadvantages.