The material discusses the concept of ways could be use to reduce the salinity of the Salton Sea.

The material discusses the concept of ways could be use to reduce the salinity of the Salton Sea. While the reading looks at the topic from one perspective, the listening challenges certain points outlines in the reading topic. Firstly, the reading details specific point regarding to this topic, namely, remove the salt from the lake by desalination processes. Next, dilute lake’s water by adding water from the Pacific Ocean. Finally, divided the lake into several section. Conversely, the listening challenges the points, one specific contradiction is removing salts from the water may have health risk, because the Salton lake’s water contains chemical materials rather than salt; furthermore, these materials could be toxic, such as Sillinum. They will escape to atmosphere and people could breath it and cause critical health problem. In addition to that, add water from The Pacific Ocean is a big constructing project, while government does not have the recourse to this major construct, because the lake is hundred kilometers long. One final point, divided the lake my using separate walls could not be a solution for long time, because of the geological action. Provided that an earthquake happen, these walls will be collapsed and the water from the large portion wilth low amount of salt will mix with the small portion with large amount of salt.