The man expresses his opinion of the Student Association's recent purchase. State his opinion and explain the reasons he gives for holding that opinion.

It is thought by some that, tourism, which has become the primary income source for a lot of nations, can have significant adverse effects if it is improperly managed. This essay will argue that despite having negative effects on the environment and paving the way for illegal activities, tourism creates jobs locally and boosts the economy of countries, meaning that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. Environmental pollution and criminal activities at tourist spots are the obvious disadvantages of tourism. When travellers visit tourist spots, such as the beach or the mountains, they usually throw away plastic bottles and other plastic wastes, which causes serious harm to the environment as well as the habitats living there. A recent report by Animal Planet shows that more than 100 dolphins died in the Maldives, a popular travel destination, because of over consumption of plastic. Moreover, an increase in illegal activities, such as robbery, rape, drug dealing, gambling and prostitution have been on a rise at the famous tourist destinations in recent years. For example, 5 reports on average are filed every day at the Goa police station by the tourists since Goa became a popular tourist spot 2 years ago. However, I believe that the advantages of tourism supersede the disadvantages. Firstly, it creates lots of local jobs which help to reduce unemployment. A number of businesses, such as hotels, restaurants, small shops, sports activities are created to satisfy the needs of the tourists and these businesses employ a lot of locals. For example, unemployment decreased by 25% in Phuket over the last ten years as hundreds of thousands of tourists visit Phuket each year. Secondly, tourism plays an important role in the overall economic development of a country. A lot of countries’ main source of foreign currency is the tourism industry, and this money is used in different sectors. A report by the World Bank shows that 30% of Thailand’s budget is based solely on the tourism sector. In conclusion, the creation of new employment and the economic growth of nations due to tourism far outweigh the drawbacks of environmental pollution and increased crimes.