The majority of parents give prizes to their children when they get good grades. Some people believe that it is a good way to encourage them to keep up the good work. While others argue that this is not a good idea to give money all of the time, so that

Some people are of the opinion that there is no alternative to decrease global fuel demand, even though there has been a great rise in fuel prices during the last 10 to 20 years. This imposes a great risk to the world deposits of fossil fuels. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with this thesis. On one hand, prices are only a part of the variables involving the use of fuels. While there are many goods that could be manipulated in its price to rise or limit its consumption, fuel is not one of these. Hence, the importance of understanding that fuels have not yet found their competitors, nor their replacement. Take for example chocolate, if prices of chocolate were to increase by 50% its demand would be reduced dramatically. This is not the case with fuels, though it may cost a lot more to fill the tank, people will still need to get to work every day. On the other hand, fuel consumption is directly related to the lack of alternative sources of energy. Moreover, these technologies such as electric vehicles are still a rather small fraction of all vehicles in the world. If these technologies were to become mainstream by the power of campaigns and large investments in research, the world could stand a chance to reduce the pressure put on the fossil deposits. For instance, the governments can initiate campaigns to promote the use of electric vehicles by applying tax incentives for the purchase of such cars. In conclusion, fuel prices are in most cases inelastic. Therefore, it would take a lot of different efforts to replace the need of fuel consumption, thus having little to no impact on reducing pressure on the world's fossil deposits depletion. In addition to this, newer technologies will take several decades to be fully developed in order to replace the fuel demanding industries.