The majority of business owners are driven solely by the pursuit of wealth.

An intriguing topic of discussion at hand is whether the majority of business owners are driven solely by gaining wealth. It may seem true that most business owners are driven only by the desire for money; however, as it is contemplated in depth, there appears to be too much absurdity to argue that the aforementioned statement is true. Although some people hold different perspectives and opinions, I personally oppose the idea that wealth is the only goal for the majority of business owners on account of two reasons: they give money away in the form of charitable donations and many business owners have a broader view of success than simple financial gain. To start with, it is fairly common for business owners to give large sums of money to charity. This generosity on the part of many business owners shows that they care about not only money but also the welfare of others. If they just wanted to make more and more money, they would keep it or invest all of their earnings in profitable enterprises. Take Bill Gates and Warren Buffet, for instance. Both these men have made enormous contributions to charity. In fact, Warren Buffet made the single biggest charitable donation in history. In addition, Bill Gates has given more than 28 billion dollars to his own charitable foundation, which works to reduce poverty and enhance health care worldwide. Furthermore, many business owners are driven by a desire to be successful in a more comprehensive way. Many successful business owners are more concerned with their reputation and public perception than with profits. A recent survey of one hundred executives revealed some interesting results. When asked why they went into business in the first place, 67 percent of those surveyed responded that they wanted to achieve wide-ranging success, not just make money. That is why many business owners regard their reputation among their peers in the industry as more important than profits. Moreover, creating a positive brand image in consumers’ minds comes before money making for most business owners. In conclusion, although whether the desire of wealth led the majority of business owners is open to interpretation, it seems reasonable to claim that business owners are not entirely motivated by the desire to become rich because of two reasons discussed in this essay.