In an entrance exams to high schools besides math and literature, candidates are required to answer test questions about other subjects like physics, chemestry, history, geography and civic education. What is your opinion about this way of testing?

In an entrance exams to high schools, apart from math and literarure are obligatory subjects, candidates also have to take an examination about other subjects such as physics, chemestry, history…This way of testing has both pros and cons. On the one hand, if students examined other subjects with math and literature, they would advoid deviation in learning. In the past, secondary students in Vietnam only focused on two main subjects like math and literature and they had a tendency to leave out other subjects which are not crucial for entrance or learnt in improperly way. In the day and age, students are taught all of the basic knowledge about each subjects by their teachers not only math and literature and when they have an examination, students must assure to have a thorough grasp of fudanmental knowledge about sub subjects. Learning physics, chemestry, history, geography, civic education you will provide a life skills or widen more acknowledge. For instance, since 2018, Ha Noi department of education and training decide that students beside doing math, literature and english test, they must complete fourth subjects which is required. Therefore, it will create a balance between sub subjects and main subjects. On the other hand, the testing process might have arduous. It is believed that everybody cannot be outstanding at all subjects, so making students to cram a bunch of knowledge is nearly impossible. Moreover, after class, students may go to extra classes or participate in sports club so they do not have much time to study all of the subjects while having a lot of task assigments to do. For example, students who have a expection to join in specialize schools, they must stay focus on specialized subjects and they can’t spend time learning all sub subjects especially in the last months. It’s very heavy pressure and more stressful for them. To sum up, this way of testing has advantages and disadvantages; therefore, students should adapt the pressure in studying to pass the entrance as they aspire. From my perspective, students ought to balance all of the subjects in order not to meet a diffuculty thorough their studying.