The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and theyshouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providingexpensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos andDVDs. with this statement?

In recent years usage of public libraries for technological media has become increasingly popular. Most of them feel that libraries are providing too much emphasis on hi-tech media and they feel it's not necessary. This essay will argue why supporting these media is entirely justified despite some issues. It is undeniable that a public library can attract more readers with the use of technology and interactive contents while many public libraries are not ultilized in Vietnam. In addition, libraries with modern facilities are far more useful to readers. Multimedia resources offer readers a huge sources of images, sounds, videos. Moreover, multimedia facilities and DVDs in a library may initially seem expensive, but they preserve valuable resources for a longer time and contain important information for future research and reference. For example, a single DVD can store the entire volume of Harry Potter which would otherwise take a large shelf of a library. On the other point of view, hi-tech library takes great effort to protect books from moisture, fire and human damages. Meanwhile, electronic books are also easy to use that Many students utilize these resources for exam and job preparations which are otherwise difficult to find. Generally, it allows the librarian to manage its collection and save space for other purposes. However, digital contents can easily be copied and preserved for as many years as we want. To conclude, the transformation of public libraries have made them more beneficial to readers and researchers as they now work as centres for interactive learning and knowledge sharing. It is expected that traditional libraries would include digital and modern facilities to enhance human knowledge and experience.