Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time.

People have varieties of hobbies and interest in their lives, and over few decades it can be noticed that some hobbies changes according to the current situation, especially among children. Although this may be true to a certain extent, I am of the opinion that many hobbies are these with us even if our living condition changes. On the one hand it is true that some hobbies are changing due to the influence of the modern trends and styles. For example, board games were very popular during last the decades, but nowadays such games are being ignored. This is mainly due to the influence of the internet and social networking, which has resulted in the evolution of trendy games like video games, online games and mobile application. These have made the lives of youngsters more convenient and easily accessible, while comparing to the old board games such as caroms, chess, ludu etc. Hence it is clear that few hobbies are changing to the current trend in the society. However, I am also convinced that some hobbies are there to stay with us throughout our lives, despites of ever changing living standards. For example, hobbies like reading, cycling, walking, jogging etc are increasingly popular among all groups of people. Even in today’s sophisticated world, people realize the importance of continuing with such hobbies to tackle with the considerable stress that face in day to day life. Despite the fact a few have chosen gym for convenience, a vast majority stick on to outdoor physical activities. To conclude, although I accept that some hobbies have been modified according to the modern living standards, I reckon that many other hobbies are still widely practiced without any change. Hence I partly agree with the given statement that our hobbies are not a mirror image of our on reality and our hobbies are influenced by trend and fashion