The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. with this statement?

Many believe that as libraries have restricted fundings and space, they should not be supplying library users with technological devices such as computers and video players. I completely disagree with this given statement and this essay will examine why public libraries should provide technical media services. Firstly, majority of the library users are students and they usually have financial restrictions. Students, especially college and university students are tasked with homework and researches. As they already struggle with student loans and living costs, they are unable to buy video and DVD players. Thus, when libraries provide individuals with such services, they can watch documentaries and interviews for their projects. In addition, watching prerecorded classes for their weak subjects in school would help students to understand difficult concepts and would highly boost their overall success level. Secondly, with the advancements in technology, there is access to limitless information and data on the internet. Libraries have finite capacity for storing books and it is hard for them to keep up with the new demands and latest versions of books. In this manner, supplying free computer and internet benefits to library users will help them to access countless books and information. In fact, a standard computer can hold up to 1000 books in its storage where storing that many books physically would take a lot of shelving units and space. In conclusion, despite the people who think libraries should confine their services to only books, I wholeheartedly believe that supplying people with hi-tech gadgets in libraries will encourage financially struggling users to complete their tasks and everyone will be provided with uncountable amounts of data.