Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Teaching cooking and food science to students is a long debated subject. While some people are in favor of this arguement, others argue that the time in school should be spent on learning other essential subject matter. I believe that it is important for everyone to have a basic knowledge cooking and food science. Every human being needs food for survival, hence every person should know how to cook for their survival. Moreover, basic cooking is a necessary skill for everyone as it makes less dependent on others. If schools around the world teach all students on how to cook, it will also reduce the patriarchal bias of expecting women to cook in the family, ultimately reducing the inequality between the genders. In addition to these positive aspects, learning food science will act as a solution to wastage of food and accidental poisoning. However, there is also an arguement that learning cooking skills take away the school time where children can learn important subjects like maths and science. As school time is already lengthy and limited, children have a hectic schedule of learning so many skills where important subjects needed for their future amy get left out. This leaves them with limited options of possibile career paths that they can choose from. I believe that learning cooking skills are never going to be harmful for any child. With the added benefit of making children more independent, it will also help them in leading a healthy life as they will cook for themselves rather than depending on store bought or fast food. Therefore, cooking and food science should be taught to children along with other essential subjects. In conclusion, food science and cooking is equally important as learning important subject as it is an essential part for survival.