The main aim at advertising is to increase sales of the products that people don’t really need.

Opinions are largely divided on is on main aim of advertising, especially in commercial goods. Some hold the belief that advertisement is persuading people to buy goods not really in need, and I find myself in complete agreement with this point of view. First, this view is perfectly match with economic strategy and policy. Companies’ financial reports are censored and publicised annually, in which high volume of sales associated with consumers’ need or not, is essential to maintain shareholders and investors’ confidence and guarantee future capital flow into business. So, as a strategy imposed by companies, advertisements should push people to spend irrationally. Also, seeing from macroeconomic aspect, extra spending on material possessions can pull both aggregate supply and demand, two vital ingredients in economic development, contributing to positive economic profits and leading to higher income and better living standard in the long run. Moreover, this view is a typical derivation from consumerism, which has psychological and social function. Consumerism, deliberate or not, is a concept that includes strategies in manipulating consumer consciousness, such as engagement of the celebrities and thoughts leaders whose images fit the value with certain groups. Therefore, when the mental connection is established, consumers will reasonably by products more than actual need. When buying more than need, social connections appears and residents will find their own bubbles. For example, ownership of luxury goods is a wall that well filter out do not belong to superior communities and higher social standards. In conclusion, since this perspective goes well with the initiatives of economical and social development, I totally advocate this view.