Opinions are divided whether what goals are of paramount importance to a nation.

Opinions are divided whether what goals are of paramount importance to a nation. While numerous people reckon that the economic progress is deemed the most vital achievement, others argue that national’s goals are not limited to only the economic prosperity. From my personal perspective, while the economy is crucial for the development of the country, however, this is not the primary goal but the contentment of the citizens also constitute to the nation’s thrive. On the one hand, a handful of individuals contends that the economic advancement is important for a country for a combination of reasons. In the first place, it is undeniable that the economic affluence results in a better life for citizens in terms of materials life. A nation with a developed economy can enhance the quality for its individuals so that they are no longer need to struggle to make both ends meet. In other words, economic progress brings huge merits to ameliorate many aspects of the country such as infrastructure as well as trading. For example, the Vietnamese used to live under destitute conditions in the 20th century, especially during the Vietnam War and the post-war time. However, the devotion to improve the economic progress has dramatically brought the superior life for the people of our country. On the other hand, there are numerous goals that are vital in addition to the economic development. Firstly, juniors’ intellectual development is even more principle since this development contributes to the sustainable development of the country. In Japan, for instance, education is invariably placed on the top of priority. This can be attributed that the prosperity in terms of economy can be obtained in the short-term time, however, the intellectual development consumes much more effort as well as time to bear fruit. Furthermore, in Bhutan, a country in Asia, not the economy but the contentment of citizens is what the authority prioritize. In this nation, the social level that a person belongs is not crucial than how satisfied he feels daily. In conclusion, although many people believe that governments should devote effort to push the economic progress, however, other categories of progress namely education as well as welfare are also necessary. In my opinion, the importance of economic progress should not eclipse other achievements.