The job has a greater effect on one’s overall happiness than the social life does.

Throughout history, human beings have always been seeking happiness; however, nowadays, different aspects of one's life which contribute to their happiness have changed according to the complexities of modern world. Psychologically speaking, job and social life are said to be the most decisive factors in one's satisfaction about their lives, but opinions are divided as to whether the role job plays is of more significance or that of one's social life. Despite the fact that the effects of job in one's daily routine cannot be neglected, it is my firm conviction that a spectacular social life is the key to higher rates of one's overall happiness. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following. First and foremost, people spend a greater fraction of their whole time dealing with their social life. Generally speaking, people are open to change and influence of external environment to which they are exposed, and one way to recognize the relative importance of a factor in their happiness is by looking at the extent to which they allocate their time. In other words, the more a person spends their time on something, the more they will be affected by that. As a result, due to the fact that people are inherently sociable and spend at least two-third of their lives socializing, their social life makes stronger impression on their life. According to recent studies, seven in every ten people who enjoy their job but suffer from poor social life, are strongly susceptible to severe degrees of depression because they find it meaningless to work. On the other hand, the results also demonstrate that rarely does job sadden people who have perfect social life, which properly explains the importance of social life. Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that an excellent social life directly and positively affects one's job setting as well. Workplace is believed to be an impartial and cold environment in which people get exhausted soon. Nevertheless, a socially skillful person can turn the frustrating work environment into a more friendly one, and, thereby, provoking a convivial atmosphere where they can enjoy their colleagues' companionship. Not only does this enhance one's happiness, life expectancy and overall energy when they leave workplace at the end of the day, but it also enables them work more efficiently and productively, which, in turn, gives them a great sense of achievement and increases their happiness because of their productivity. For example, back then, I worked as medical apparatus technician in a hospital whose environment was dreadful because of patients' pain and diseases. However, using my social skills, I had forged rapport with a lot of my colleagues who acted as a boundless source of energy for me and made me happy all the time. In summary, it is a foregone conclusion that people' overall happiness is affected by their social life more than is it influenced by their job. The fact that social life forms a greater part of one's life, coupled with the benefits it brings to their job settings, is the reason which strengthens my claim.