A number of criminals are prone to reoffending the society by committing repeated crimes after their first jail time

A number of criminals are prone to reoffending the society by committing repeated crimes after their first jail time. Even Though jail is a vital place to reshape offenders and build a safe society, It can also have its own drawbacks by negatively affecting them. There are many reasons why ex-convicts are involved in repeated crimes. Firstly, Jail can be a place where they get the opportunity to learn better ways of committing crime secondly, The anticipated family and society’s exclusion can be a great discouragement in the process of becoming a better citizen. This n return can have a negative impact on their mental and physical health. Finally, If the punishment is not severe enough, they ought to think of crimes as means of supporting themselves. Therefore, Prison should provide them with a chance to be better than they were before. There are several ways to address this issue such as the government emphasising on rehabilitation and training programmes rather than solely on punishment. The other solution is, Programmes should be designed to educate them and build better skills, Such skills can be utilized once they join the society and decrease their chance of being unemployed. Furthermore, Rehabilitation should involve psychologists that help in finding the core cause for their actions and provide counseling. In conclusion, Prisons should not only be a place for punishment, it should give them an opportunity to be reborn again by providing a safe environment. This has a long term effect of decreasing crime rates and creating a better society.