Some people believe that certain foods should be banned like cigarettes. What is the reason?

Food, in general, plays an essential role to humanity and greatly affects the growth, development, and maintenance of body functions. Similar to tobacco smoking, there are those who are of the belief that some foods must be prohibited. I firmly believe in this argument as the negative effects of certain edible products to people far outweigh the positive. For one, processed and unhealthy foods are detrimental to a person’s health and in fact, frequent consumption may lead to certain diseases. In order to prevent spoilage and to prolong the lifespan of food, preservatives are incorporated, which contains toxic substances when ingested. This, in turn, affects the well-being of a person and takes a toll on one’s health in the long run. These toxins can eventually cause various types of cancer, diabetes mellitus, heart diseases, stroke, and kidney problems. Furthermore, although the production, distribution, and sales of these kinds of foods provide good profit, it does not offset the cost of health care when one gets afflicted with certain diseases. Thus, they face the burden of paying hospital bills and maintenance medications. Some even need to undergo more invasive and expensive treatments, like dialysis and chemotherapy, several times in a week, which causes financial constraints to an individual. In summary, many people hold the view that manufacturing of some foods should be hindered. I completely agree with this proposition. In my perspective, there are certain foods that endangers the life of humans and impacts their lives negatively. Hence, production of such foods must be put to halt.