The Internet is the best place to find information.

Many people argue that the Internet is the most reliable place to acquire knowledge. I totally disagree with these individuals since there is a huge amount of false data posted online and there are other better places where people can get informed and learn from. The main reason why the Internet is not the best place to find information is that there are plenty of unreliable sources on the web. Although I concede that researching online is the easiest way to learn about almost every subject, people can not trust in everything they find since everybody can write or talk about what they want and sometimes spread anonymously unrealistic information on purpose. As a result, hundreds of people end up believing in fake news because they do not think critically about what they see online. To illustrate, this last year thousands of fake news about COVID were posted, such as how wearing masks are uneffective and many individuals believed in it, causing an outbreak of new cases. Another reason is that there are other better sources to search from such as books or TV news. A book being published involves an immense amount of work of specialists, usually years of research and fact-checking. Consequently, the information they provide is more accurate. TV news usually also provide more precise news since they have a reputation to maintain so they need to be extremely thorough and there are a lot of individuals behind every data they release so people have someone to go after if the information given is incorrect, differently from the Internet where there are fake profiles and anonymous posts. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that the Internet is not the best place to obtain information since individuals can be deceived by false data and there are better sources available such as books and TV news. Many people argue that the Internet is the most reliable place to acquire knowledge. I totally disagree with these individuals since there is a huge amount of false data posted online and there are other better places where people can get informed and learn from.