The Internet is harmful or not

Despite the convenience, the Internet is proved to be problematic due to users' over reliance. I fully support this statement as institutions should control the application of the Internet in teaching. This essay aims at clarifying the distractions that the Internet causes and how schools can prevent their students from abusing the Internet. First and foremost, the Internet can distract students from educational purposes. Not only does it provide learners with a wide range of references, but it is also a great source of entertainment. Interests in social media, online games and films will make people forget their initial intention. For instance, a student may be looking up the dictionary but end up being attracted by advertisements and waste time wandering the Internet. In short, efficiency can not be guaranteed. Therefore, schools need to take measures to discourage their students from distractions and make use of the technology. Possible solutions include giving open homework, which either boost students' logical thinking or not have to rely on any formulas. This urges learners to think outside of the box rather than copying from others. For instance, assignments can be writing an essay about topics that individuals are interested in or conducting a survey. In a nutshell, the Internet does bring about harmful effects that outweight its benefits. If measures are taken properly, students can take advantage of the tachnology without being distracted.